Skip to content

About Us

     On January 18, 1909, a Chamber of Commerce first organized in Jackson, but by 1937 the chamber lapsed into inactivity. In May 1957, however, J. T. Beckham and Vincent Jones re-organized the Butts County Chamber of Commerce at a meeting in the courthouse with 123 charter members formed out of the Downtown Merchants Association. The first officers were: Vincent Jones, president; J. T Beckham, vice-president; Elizabeth McMichael, secretary and Candler Webb, treasurer. On June 7, 1957, the Butts County Chamber of Commerce officially registered with the Georgia Secretary of State’s Corporations Division (History of Butts County Georgia, 1825-1976, Revised Edition, 2012).

     In January 2021, the Butts County Chamber of Commerce moved to a new location - the Historic Butts County Courthouse.  The courthouse is now a Welcome Center for Butts County. Also located in the courthouse are the Jackson-Butts County Council for Arts, Butts County Historical Society, and the Butts County Development Authority.

Meet the Board of Directors

Amanda Rivers

Amanda Rivers — President

Rivers Ranch

Nikki Sowell

Nikki Sowell — Past President

Lester Peek Siteworks

About Natalie Jones

Natalie Jones — Vice President

Jones Petroleum

About Melissa Harris

Melissa Harris — Secretary

Ameris Bank

Rae Johnston

Rae Johnston — Treasurer

Haisten & Johnston

Chewy Adams

Derrick "Chewy" Adams

Butts County Fire Department

Michael Brewer

Michael Brewer

Butts County Administration

Brad Johnson headshot

Brad Johnson

Butts County Manager

Carlos Duffey

Carlos Duffey

City of Jackson Mayor

About Matt Garrison

Matt Garrison

Butts County Sheriff's Department

Kristie Head-Stodghill Headshot

Kristie Head-Stodghill

WellStar Sylvan Grove Hospital

LaTara Miller headshot

LaTara Miller

Central Georgia EMC

About Josh Thomas

Joshua Thomas

United Bank

Sister Ward headshot

Sister Ward

Georgia Power

Joy Wedemeier Headshot

Joy Wedemeier

City of Jackson

About Jennifer Vasil

Jennifer Vasil

Westbury Medical Care & Rehab

Brent Lowe headshot

Brent Lowe

Butts County School Superintendent

Joe Westbury Headshot

Joe Westbury

Sherrell Westbury Funeral Home

Brent Watts

Brent Watts

Butts County Schools

Jared Godin headshot

Jared Godin

Jackson Lake Homeowners Association

Ike English Headshot

Ike English

Dauset Trails Nature Center

John Harkness Headshot

John Harkness

Butts County IDA

Kim Freshwater headshot

Kim Freshwater

Century 21 Crowe Realty

Bill Jones Headshot

Bill Jones

Jones Petroleum

Meet the Current Staff

About Lisa Durden

Lisa Durden

Executive Director

About Bridget Daniels

Bridget Daniel

Tourism Director

Morgan Morris

Morgan Morris

Web & Graphic Designer

Our Mission

To promote business and act as a catalyst for economic and community development in Butts County.